



The Arthur Terry School Humanities Faculty

The Humanities Faculty is led by Victoria Cooper and Danielle Stilling and is made up of four distinct subject areas: Politics, Geography, History and Religious Education. Each department has a subject leader to lead developments in learning and teaching and to manage the subject daily. There are currently 7 specialist Geography teachers, 4 specialist History teachers, 4 specialist RE teachers and 2 specialist Government and Politics teachers.

History, Geography and RE are taught throughout Key Stage 3 in mixed ability classes. All students sit a short course GCSE Religious Studies exam at the end of year 10 and have the option to choose both History and Geography for GCSE. Both History and Geography are very popular choices at GCSE.

In the sixth form, History, Geography, Religious Studies, and Politics are all taught at A-level.

The Humanities Faculty has a dedicated suite of rooms within school build and a dedicated staff area. The Faculty is keen to extend on its success and is committed to ensuring the best quality of education for all students. Although divided into departments, there is a common ethos, common policies and a genuine collaboration between all staff to work together in the best interests of our students.

